Not Saussure

September 5, 2006

Book Club (II): A literary controversy

Filed under: Books, Uncategorized, usa, Wingnuts — notsaussure @ 1:16 am

Mr Jon Swift, the American reviewer and man of letters, has drawn my attention to a controversy arising from one of his reviews on Amazon.com of books he hasn’t read:

Apparently, Thomas E. Woods Jr., the author of The Politically Incorrect Guide to American History, did not like the review I wrote of his book for Amazon and had it removed. I worked very hard on this review and was very disappointed that he took such measures, so I am posting it here. Because I believe in being fair and balanced I am also posting the email he sent me taking exception to my review so that you can see an opposing point of view. However, I stand by my review as written.

The Politically Incorrect Guide to American History by Thomas E. Woods Jr.

Reviewer: Jon Swift – See all my reviews

I prefer history that is correct, January 17, 2006

I have not actually read this book but I don’t understand why someone would write a book of history that is incorrect. I think we have enough problems nowadays getting young people to learn the correct dates when something happened and the correct names of our Presidents that filling their heads with more incorrect information doesn’t make any sense at all.

Thomas E. Woods Jr.’s Response:

17 Jan 2006 22:36:59 -0800
Do you not understand the term “politically incorrect”?? It doesn’t mean FACTUALLY incorrect. Have you never heard of political correctness? And you’re going to denounce a book you’ve never read on the basis of your own ignorance? What’s the matter with you?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

