Not Saussure

September 15, 2006

Advice sought from Clare Short

Filed under: Clare Short, Politics, UK — notsaussure @ 3:28 pm

Just sent this by snail-mail. I’ll post her reply as and when.

Dear Ms Short,

I was interested to read that you intend to step down as a Labour MP at the next election and to campaign for a hung parliament in which about only about a third of the MPs returned are Labour.

To achieve this state of affairs, some 150 of your current colleagues on the Labour benches will, according to my calculations, have to lose their seats. One of them, I would imagine, will have to be my MP, Mr James Plaskitt (Warwick and Leamington), who held his seat in the last election by only about 300 votes.

I find it difficult to believe that a Labour MP and former minister can be advising me not to vote for Mr Plaskitt in the next election, particularly in so marginal a constituency, which is why I’m writing to you to ask you to confirm that I’ve correctly understood the implications of what you’re reported to have said.

I look forward to hearing from you.

 

Yours sincerely

 

PS I am copying this to Mr Plaskitt, since he clearly has an interest in the matter.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

