Not Saussure

May 12, 2007

Tony’s resignation speech

Filed under: Blair — notsaussure @ 8:29 am

Craig Brown has the first draft:

But I ask you to accept one thing – hand on heart, I did what I thought was right.

I could have done what was wrong, of course I could. But I didn’t. I did what was right, even when it was wrong, which it wasn’t, because as I keep telling you, I thought it was right. Great! So even if it was wrong, it was right, because that’s what I thought. I may have been wrong. That’s your call, though you’re frankly in no position to judge.

But believe one thing if nothing else – there’s nothing else to believe but this one thing. Look, I did what I did because I thought it was right.

Even if it was wrong. Which it certainly wasn’t.

I’m glad to have cleared that one up. Great!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

